Fabric in Port!

Fabric in Port from Korea!

Published by

Peggy Brown

American/Canadian, could be your neighbor! Married with two grown children and now four grandchildren! Loving being a grandma! I began quilting in the 1990ʼs with scraps of fabric. Then wanting to make personalized family heritage quilts I used my own technique of pounding flowers, adding highlights to the petals and finally, special notes with Pigma pens. In 2010 I expanded my quilting ideas into designing my own fabrics through Spoonflower. Learning to work with my computer, how to create repeats, how to change up colors etc. was challenging and very interesting! When sharing my designs with others I felt the prompting to create a 'collection' with some Christian elements to put into my family quilts. A collection would be required for any fabric company to consider 'printing for quilt shops.' I believed that there would be many quilters interested in tucking scripture into their quilts. My husband and I traveled to the Houston International Quilt Market There were several interested companies - Newcastle Fabrics printed my first collection called Julia's Notes. "In The Beginning Fabrics" produced my second collection called "A Time to Mend" You can see images of the designs in this blog. The "Time To Mend" collection was printed and distributed in the fall of 2015. In 2018 another collection was printed and distributed called "Believe" With a background as a quilter, dabbler in acrylic painting and sketching - fabric design was a new idea for me. And it is has been an exciting journey! I love expressing my faith through words and pictures. A piece in each collection presents 'words that inspire' for quilters to use in their quilts or other sewn items.

2 thoughts on “Fabric in Port!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.